Kids: An April Mixtape

goat 01

I was recently asked if I had any interest or faith in artists younger than me. I replied, “I’m just realizing that the people I really cared about as a kid are getting older. It’s strange to realize that.”

Fortunately they aren’t the only people I pay attention to. Here is a collection of songs by artists who are considered more “up and coming” rather than established. There are originals, remixes and reinterpretations here, but I take an interest not only due to their work. Most of these artists are brash, experimental and outspoken about their politics and worldviews.

Download Kids here (via Box)

1) Lykke Li – “Du Är Den Ende” (from the film Tommy, 2014)
2) The xx – “Reunion (Mistakes Are Ok Remix)” (from Hivern Remixes, 2013)
3) Son Lux & Lorde – “Easy (Switch Screens)” (from Alternate Worlds, 2014)
4) FKA twigs – “Hide” (Live for Yours Truly & Dazed Digital, 2014)
5) Sky Ferreira – “Rancid Girl” (self-released, 2014)
6) Lorde vs. The Verve – “Royals Symphony” (self-released, 2013)

Leave a Reply

