Hands Off The Remote: 7 TV Intros I Don’t Mind Repeat-Watching

Watch a TV show’s intro once and that might do it for you, or at the very least you can watch it occasionally, averaging seven days in between viewings. I guess it’s also a time to zone out or get comfortable before the show begins.

However, most of us skip a show’s intro when we binge watch or revisit old favorites. I do, but then I realized I don’t do it all the time. Why is that?

Here are 7 TV show intros that I never mind watching again and again and again, setting them apart from countless others.

– – – – – – –

7) Daria (1997 – 2001)

I suppose we should start at the beginning. As far as I know, this was the first intro I could watch repeatedly without noticing. Maybe it’s because the titular character’s personality is so upbeat and refreshing.

louie

6) Louie (2010 – ongoing)

Alas, there’s no clip of this show’s intro online, so you’d have to catch it on FX or Netflix. For my part I never tire of watching CK’s shifty eyes as he walks down the streets of New York, sucking at life and eating pizza while a passerby flips off the camera.

Even better, this sequence and the show were parodied brilliantly on SNL in 2012, resulting in this juxtaposition:

louis ck lincoln

Whether it’s “Louie” or “Lincoln” the intro works on me every time.

5) Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace (2004)

For the uninitiated, Darkplace was made a mere ten years ago. The joke is that it’s a retrospective and mockumentary about a failed hospital drama/horror/fantasy show that premiered in the ’80s, spearheaded by the egotistical Garth Marenghi (Matthew Holness) and his publisher Dean Learner (Richard Ayoade).

Whenever I see the intro it’s fascinatingly hilarious, over-the-top and bad, just like the rest of what follows it.

4) Fishing With John (1991)

I’ve gone on record to say that Fishing With John is the reason I’m straight, and I still await a season two. Its cheesy, public access-like intro is one of its more underrated moments, but also establishes its dry sense of humor. I also like watching John Lurie waving his arms in that field. Or is he dancing? I have no idea.

If you haven’t seen the show in its entirety, you should start today. It’s now streaming on Hulu and consists of six episodes.

3) The IT Crowd (2006 – 2013)

This intro really hits my weak spot since it was created by Shynola (the team behind one of my favorite Beck videos), uses 8-bit imagery and features a cricket bat. I’ve watched it countless times and never get sick of it. Game, set, match.

2) Boardwalk Empire (2010 – 2014)

This is my favorite intro for a show broadcast on HBO, which is saying a lot. That network knows the right people to hire and knocks it out of the park nearly every time.

In this case I think the imagery, music and austerity of Steve Buscemi are perfect. I’d argue that every shot is perfect, actually. It’s the most beautiful of the selections on this list, hands down.

1) Futurama (1999 – 2013)

I have no idea why I can watch this so many times. I wouldn’t even consider myself a Futurama fan, and yet there’s something mesmerizing about its intro. I simply can’t look away and still feel confused about why.

Leave a Reply

